Menu
Prescribed Burn Manager Certification


The law states that in order for a prescribed burn to have liability protection; it must be supervised by a Certified Prescribed Burn Manager.

 

Certification Process

The Prescribed Burn Manager Certification will have a 5 year term, requiring renewal every five years. Each Certified Prescribed Burn Manager must, over that five year period, earn six (6) hours of continuing education on prescribed burning.

A training program has been established to meet the requirements of this Act. The program requires a Fire Behavior Course, which is done as a self-study class, prior to the Burn Manager Training Course. The Burn Manager course, covering 32 hours, will include discussion of fire behavior, burning methods, safety, planning, smoke screening and Alabama fire laws. These classes are offered on a regular basis across the state. For a list of training sessions, see the Certified Prescribed Burn Manager Training.

To receive initial certification, burners should submit an Application for Prescribed Burn Manager Certification along with proof of training and a non-refundable $50 application fee. Please send applications to:

Alabama Forest Commission
Attn: Prescribed Burn Certification Program
P O Box 302550
Montgomery AL 36130-2550

For more information contact Bethany Elliott