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CODE OF ALABAMA
Title 9 - Chapter 13

Section 11
It is a felony crime to:

(a)1. Willfully, maliciously, or intentionally burn, set fire to, or
cause to be burned or any fire to be set to any forest, grass, efc.
It is a crime to:

(b)1. Allow fires to escape to adjoining lands.

(b)2. Burn brush, grass, or debris without taking reasonable
precautions.

(b)3. Set fire to any brush, grass or debris without clearing sur-
rounding flammable materials from a reasonable safe distance.

(b)4. Set a fire within or near any forest, woodland or grass
land and leave such fire before it is totally extinguished.

(b)5. Remove or deface any warning signs or posted notices.

(b)6. Burn any new ground, fields, grassland or woodland with-
out first obtaining a permit.

Why Have This Law?

The law is designed to ensure that outdoor burning is conduct-
ed safely and to prevent the spread of careless wildfire. It pro-
tects Alabama’s forests . . . our most important natural resource.
NOTE: Burning household trash and garbage is a violation
of the public health law.

The Law Is Enforced

Alabama Forestry Commission officers enforce this law.
Violations can result in a fine of up to $1,000 and/or up to six
months in jail. It's the law, and it's to protect your land from your
neighbor’s carelessness. This law is enforced in cooperation with
local, state, and federal law enforcement agencies, city, county
and state governments, and local city and volunteer fire depart-
ments.



Permit Required

State law requires that you secure a “permit” BEFORE you burn
any woodland, grassland, field or new ground that is over 1/4
acre in size or lies within 25 feet of natural fuels, such as woods
or grass. There is no cost for the permit.

How to Obtain a Permit

A permit is a telephone authorization to burn. To obtain a burn
permit, simply call the Alabama Forestry Commission’s toll-free
number in your area. The numbers and corresponding counties
are listed on the back page of this brochure. You will need the
following information:

@ Location of the property, including the section, township
and range. Local Alabama Forestry Commission personnel
can assist you with this information.

€ The approximate time, date, and type of burning.

Be Fire Safe

To receive the permit, you must comply with the following:

€ Have the adequate tools, equipment and manpower to
control your fire and keep it from escaping.

@ Stay with your fire until it is completely out.
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Toll-Free Numbers to Obtain a Permit

Please call the toll-free number listed below for the county where you will be
burning:

Florence € 1-800-942-3107
Colbert, Cullman, Franklin, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Marion, Morgan,
Winston

Northport @ 1-800-452-5923
Bibb, Fayette, Jefferson, Lamar, Pickens, Shelby, Tuscaloosa, Walker

Brownsboro € 1-800-572-2017
Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, DeKalb, Etowah, Jackson, Madison, Marshall

Dadeville ¢ 1-800-492-3711
Chambers, Clay, Cleburne, Coosa, Randolph, St. Clair, Talladega, Tallapoosa

Montgomery € 1-800-392-5679
Barbour, Bullock, Butler, Coffee, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, ElImore, Geneva,
Henry, Houston, Lee, Lowndes, Macon, Montgomery, Pike, Russell

Brewton € 1-800-672-3076
Baldwin, Conecuh, Escambia, Monroe

Bay Minette @ 1-800-672-6912
Choctaw, Clarke, Mobile, Washington

Selma € 1-800-242-2504

Autauga, Chilton, Dallas, Greene, Hale, Marengo, Perry, Sumter, Wilcox
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P.O. Box 302550

513 Madison Avenue
Montgomery, AL 36130-2550
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